Wednesday, June 4, 2014

We Need Your Help with H680, the North Carolina JOBS Act, which Enables Investment Crowdfunding in North Carolina

Dear friends and supporters of the North Carolina small business and startup communities:

We are in the final stages of making investment crowdfunding a reality here in North Carolina with the passage of H680, the North Carolina JOBS Act. It has already passed the NC House last session by a vote of 103 to 1. We need your help to push it over the finish line in the NC Senate.

Please call and email your expressions of support to the Senate Leadership and your own NC Senator. Use this tool to find and contact your own North Carolina State Legislators and express your support. Senator Berger is Senate President Pro Tem, Senator Tarte and Senator Barringer are working to get the bill passed in the Senate, Senators Gunn and Meredith are the co-chairs of the Commerce committee, and Senators Rabon and Rucho are the co-chairs of the Finance committee. Senator Apodaka is Chairman of the Rules Committee. Please ask them to move H680 forward. Senators Pate, Brown, and Tillman are part of the Senate leadership, and Lt Governor Forest is also Senate President. Representative Murry is Chairman of the House Commerce Committee and the Chief Sponsor and creator of H680. The bill needs action by the Senate Commerce and Finance Committees, and a floor vote in the Senate before the end of the short session, which began on May 14th, 2014 and is currently in session. There are many competing priorites in the session, so we need to keep the NC JOBS Act near the top.

Representative Murry
Tom.Murry@ncleg.net
Office: 919-733-5602

Senator Berger
Phil.Berger@ncleg.net
Office: 919-733-5708

Senator Barringer
Tamara.Berringer@ncleg.net
Office: 919-733-5653

Senator Tarte
Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net
Office: 919-715-3050

Senator Gunn
Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net
Office: 919-301-1446

Senator Meredith
Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net
Office : 919-733-5776

Senator Rabon
Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net
Office: 919-733-5963

Senator Rucho
Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net
Office: 919-733-5655

Senator Pate
Louis.Pate@ncleg.net
Office: 919-733-5621

Senator Apodaca
Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net
Office: 919-733-5745

Senator Brown
Harry.Brown@ncleg.net
Office: 919-715-3034

Senator Tillman
Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net
Office: 919-733-5870

Lieutenant Governor Dan Forest
hal.weatherman@nc.gov
Office: 919-733-7350

Thanks for your help, and please forward this request to your contacts in the startup and small business communities.

Best regards,

NC JOBS Act of 2014 Team


Here is a suggestion for an email or phone conversation. All the Senators have legislative assistants who will answer your call during office hours, and pass on your request to the Senator. If the timing is right, many of the Senators will take your call as well. Please be courteous and respectful of their time when calling.

“I am (  ) with (  ). I am contacting the Senator with regards to H680, the NC JOBS Act. This bill, which creates a new way to fund startups and small business using investment crowdfunding, is a great opportunity to create jobs and improve the economy in North Carolina. It passed the House by a wide bipartisan vote of 103 to 1, and has support from the startup and small business communities of North Carolina. This bill needs action from the Senate during the short session and I urge you to pass this bill. Thanks for your support of NC JOBS and the small business community.”


Support the North Carolina JOBS Act:

If you have not yet done so, now is the time to contact your state Senators with an email of your support for  H680, the NC JOBS Act. It is very easy to do using the links we give below.
If you have any questions or comments, please email the JOBS NC Crowdfunding Team at jobsnc@nc.rr.com or contact Representative Murry’s office at murryla@ncleg.net.




No comments:

Post a Comment